Cafe Mangii

Cafe Mangii — This nice little cafe is situated in Khar, the one of many cafe Mangiis’ that have opened up in our city, this was the next place on our to go list. (Real reason will be disclosed below.) Great family joint, also a perfect place to take a date to, Cafe Mangii has quite a few hits but a few misses as well.

 

The Chef: I would like to start by saying, the Superhero, from our League of Foodies, is leaving this beautiful city and going to Bengaluroo (WAAAAHHH???) as he got a new job there. I will miss his hot and hefty body, thus we decided to go and have a nice night out (This is still not the real reason.) Any plan that happens Bandra side, has to start at PJs. So did this. Man, if i have a cocktail party for my wedding, I’m gonna have it here. Monk pe Monk, Monk pe Monk, Monk pe Monkkkkk !!! That place is a beauty! We left PJs and a walk down the road is where Cafe Mangii is. Nicely nestled near Jai Jawan and Cafe Ivy.

Now I’ll tell you the real reason why we went there. *Drum Rolls* The Lil One, had a Vodafone coupon which gave us a full 50% off on our entire bill! Finally those Vodafone F****rs got something right!!!! We were walking to Mangi like we were on a mission. During the walk, all I was thinking in my head was the song from Lagaan, Chale Chalo!!!! But by the time I reached, the monk was doing its thing, Made me a feel a little full. (The Monk and the cheese chili toast.) But then what the heck, HAR DIN KAHAAN 50% OFF MILTA HAI CAFE MANGII MEIN!!

 

Jalapeno Poppers
Jalapeno Poppers

On entering, all we could see was a table for 5, and we were 8, so how we managed to squeeze our way in and fit, was another story altogether. The service guys saw this and they realised, f*****g hawraats have arrived. But politely the stewardess came to us and told us to wait for 5 minutes, as another big table was leaving. While waiting I looked around and saw another table of 6 guys, squished into a table for 4 people and having a pot of cheese fondue among them. For some reason, I found that rather amusing. And what was even funnier, was that as soon as we were seated, the Superhero’s girlfriend suggested us to go for the Cheese Fondue O_o !!!! Ignoring her suggestion, like it was never put out there, this is what we ordered — Peri -Peri Chicken Pizza, Salami Milano Pizza, Spicy Pepperoni Pizza, two plates of Garlic Bread, Cheddar (it seems) and Jalapeno poppers, Fusilli Mamarosa, Chicken Lasagna, Roast Half Chicken and finally ended it with a huge piece of Baileys Surprise.

 

Garlic Bread
Garlic Bread

Well being from the restaurant industry, I know a certain company’s poppers when I see them, so on that incident, I hope the Foodie will share some light in her section. Coming onto the pizzas – light, thin crust and freshly baked in front of us. Salami Milano being my favorite as the salt of the salami went really well with the cheese and the pizza base. The Peri- Peri spice chicken with its caramalized onions and peppers gave a great texture to the pizza. But the spicy pepperoni for me lacked the spicy as well as salt, had to drop loads of chili flakes and salt for me to consume it. Garlic bread, what can one say, you cant go wrong with it, here also, great thinly sliced French Baguette, toasted to perfection with a hint of garlic butter and herbs, went really well with the Balsamic vinegar which they had kept in cute little bottles.

 

Milano Pizza
Milano Pizza

Out of the three mains, the Fusilli Mamarosa was my favourite!!!!! The smoked, cream cherry tomato sauce went so well the most perfectly cooked al dante pasta fusilli, which had florets of broccoli, sliced mushroom and peppers in it. Must have for all Terians (vege, non-vege, fishi etc.)!!!!! Coming to the Roasted Chicken and Lasagna, it was an overall verdict that there was a considerable lack of salt. But for me, as long as there isn’t an excess of salt, we can still have the food!! Unfortunately when I got to try the roast chicken, the skin had gone moist and trust me moist chicken skin, does not taste good! The mash potato, wine jus, and vegetables looked really nice on the plate, I found the vegetables a little less blanched. The Lasagna — minimal plating (what i love) but made sure there was enough food for one person. Again the chicken mince mixture lacked a little bit of salt for me so had to use the cruet set again for this dish.

Peri Peri Chicken Pizza
Peri Peri Chicken Pizza

For dessert, I personally asked the Chef, to help us out with a cake, which he did without batting an eyelid. He used the Bailey’s surprise, and did his own addition of chocolate sauce and whipped cream. Cake was great, really nice flavour of the coffee coming through. We were so full, that only half the cake was consumed and the rest had to be packed. The overall bill came to five thousand (thanks to the discount) for food and a few drinks. I am a fan of the Original Mangii Ferra in Juhu(Name has been changed) this places needs to up the flavour, discount or no discount, for me to be coming back again.

 

The Foodie: Before I start with anything, I must confess that for years, I mispronounced the name of this place. I have been to this place a total of three times, once being in Pune. So don’t know how much that counts. And despite our last visit which was not as mind-blowing as we expected it to be, I wont mind trying Cafe Mangii a few more times, just to figure out what it is that makes this place so popular.

Fusilli Mamarosa
Fusilli Mamarosa
The first time I visited this place,  my parents my mother wanted to go light and tried the Minestrone soup which she really liked. My dad wanted something with bacon, so he settled for the Roulade, and since I’m a moody eater, had to specially request the chef to make me something that was not on the menu. He sweetly agreed .Grilled Chicken in Lemon Sage Sauce it was. That, and a glass of perfect Red wine Sangria. Perfect. My mom was a new Sangria fan after that night, so that speaks well of the drink :). Coming to my second visit, to the Khar  Cafe Mangii. This was a total laugh riot, right from the point we entered. Turns out,Vodafone Tuesdays is a busy day for this place. The place was so packed, at one point, I even saw the stewardess holding her head trying to cope up with the incoming stress. It was funny 🙂

When I walked in, I immediately charged towards the wash room, but when I was asked to wait for two minutes, as it was occupied, I tried to distract myself with the surroundings. What was my first observation? A packet of Mc Cain lying in the deep freezer near the kitchen entrance. It did not register till I caught the Chef and the Li’l One arguing about how a plate of Jalapeno Poppers here, was merely a packet of fried frozen poppers. Having seen the Mc Cain lying in the deep freezer, I could not help but agree with the Chef. Certain things in this world you can’t unsee.

8 of us managed to squeeze into a booth clearly designed for just 4 and created a racket, trying to decide what was to be eaten that night. One side the Techno One seized this as an opportunity to grab a drink, cos you know 50% off. While the rest were just giggling. In the meantime, I was trying to scan the menu for something that would make my taste buds tingle. Lasagna seemed to be the safest dish to order from the lot as the rest had been taken care of, by the regulars with us.

Half Roast Chicken
Half Roast Chicken
Before I give you my verdict let me tell you about what Mangii has to offer. They have a really nice breakfast menu and reasonably priced. Eggs Normandy, Buttermilk Pancakes, Grilled Nutella Sandwich, Belgian Waffles. Just reading those names is getting me happy.  I feel maybe next time I should come for their breakfast. Ill like place alot more I bet. Their Deli, which is their Fast Food Section, they have a number of burgers. Classic Ham Burger, Crispy Chicken Mushroom and Brie for the veggies. What stood out in this section is the Scottish Smoke Salmon on a freshly toasted bagel and citrus cream cheese. Sounds yum, no? Im going to try it soon.  All of the above are accompanied with seasoned potatoes and a salad. But the add ons are available as well.
From what I know this place is known for its fondue. We saw at least three tables around us, order it. They offer three kinds of fondue with Pesto Croutons and Crudites. Classic Cheese, Jalapeno and Sun dried Tomato and Basil and Pine Nuts. and you can have them with smoked chicken, prawns or sausages which come as add ons. Mangii also has something called Small Plates, that includes your home made breads with herbed butter, Garlic Bread, Goat Cheesed Stuff Mushrooms and bbq sauce (which sounds nice) Cajun Chicken with Sour Cream and Guacamole AND King Prawns in butter garlic sauce to name a few.
Coming to the Lasagna I tried from the Pasta section, it didn’t have that sweetness to it. Like the tomato sauce in it was more Tangy than sweet. I prefer otherwise. So maybe they should work on that a little. Lasanga can be a pretty great dish if made well!
Chicken Lasagna
Chicken Lasagna
I liked the Bailey’s cake but it was too heavy for me to get past one bite. All in all, I feel I need to visit this place one more time apart from breakfast to figure out what their hit dish is. It has been around for so long, there has got to be something!
Other foodies, bloggers of this city, do shed some light and tell us if we have missed out on a great dish 🙂

Food: 3

Value for money: 4 (Thank you Vodafone)

Decor: 3

Leave a Reply

